Success Saturday: Mason B.

Mason is the husband of one on my online running mom friends. Together, they joined my Insanity challenge group in May. Throughout the last 9 weeks, I’ve seen Mason blow this challenge out of the water with his main driving force keeping him inspired, his family.  I hope you are inspired by his story as I’ve been to see it unfold.
before and after Insanity
1. Why did you decide to lose weight/change your lifestyle? (Any and all reasons)
  • I let myself go after having open heart surgery back in December 2009 to repair a failed aortic valve and a massive aortic aneurysm. I ended up having to get an artificial aortic root and a mechanical valve. Prior to this, I was traveling to several states competing in 100 mile ultra-endurance mountain bike races. When you compete at that level, you are CONSTANTLY training and eating thousands of calories a day. When you get sidelined and can’t exercise as hard, your body still thinks it needs all the calories you used to give it. 3 years and 30+ pounds later, I was sick of the excuses. My oldest son was 4 and my twins were 2 months old when I had my surgery. They are 8 and 3 now. I am 46 and they need me to be around and to be an active part of their lives. So I decided to challenge myself to take my fitness level up a few notches and keep it there. Insanity helped me accomplish that goal and gave me a great platform to continue training for a better life.
2. What exercise did you do? (List everything)
  • Primarily Insanity. I also did some good mountain bike rides and the occasional run/ walk on the treadmill.
 3. How did you change your eating?
  • I followed the Insanity meal plan as close as I could. Eating 5 small, healthier meals a day instead of 3 larger meals. I also cut out all fast-food and only drank water, coffee, no calorie sports drinks, or milk.
4. Did you use any nutritional supplements?
  • I took a men’s multi-vitamin formulated for heart health, and drank protein powder after my workouts. Unfortunately, I cannot drink certain supplements because of the high level of vitamin K. Vitamin K is what the body uses to aid in clotting blood in case of injury. I am on “blood thinners” to keep me from clotting so the mechanical valve stays smooth and clot free.
5. Did you have support? (Group, friend, online community, etc.)
  • I had plenty of support! My wife was my #1 inspiration, doing the Insanity program with me and helping me eat better. I also had online support from Carin Schaab on Facebook, used MyFitnessPal to keep record of my meals, and lots of self-discipline.
6. What do you feel is the top thing you’ve gotten out of your journey?
  • I feel great about myself again, and am not afraid to take my shirt off at the beach! I know this is exactly what I need to do to be able to be active with my children for as long as I can.
7. What is your next goal?
  • My next goal is to shed the remaining 8lbs to get to my goal weight of 180lbs. I am incorporating some light weight lifting to get lean definition, and will continue with Insanity and possibly T25.
Leave a Reply

