Monday Meals: Curried Tuna Patties

This meal came about as one of those moments where I was racking my brain of what was in the pantry and avoiding an early trip to the grocery store. I knew we had plenty of cans of tuna since it’s a staple in my house, and could whip up tuna patties in no time, but I didn’t want plain tuna patties. After scouring the web for different versions, I settled on using The Big Man’s World‘s recipe for curried tuna patties as my base.

image

Here’s my recipe for curried tuna patties:

3 cans of well-drained white tuna
2 palmfuls of Italian parsley, chopped
1 egg, beaten
2 tablespoons of bread crumbs (I used my homemade bread crumbs from Bountiful Basket heels.)
2 tablespoons of curry powder
Natural sea salt to taste
Black pepper to taste
Garlic powder to taste

Mix all dry ingredients together, then mix in tuna, and then mix in egg. It sounds kind of tedious, but this insures proper coating and binding.

Place 1-2 tablespoons of coconut oil in a warm skillet to melt. Once melted, spoon large helpings of tuna mixture into skillet and flatten into patties. Cook for 5-7 minutes on each side until crispy. Serve immediately with a dollop of plain Greek yogurt for topping.

I made a potato and pineapple curry to go along with the brown rice I shipped up. Here’s the curry side dish recipe:

Quarter red potatoes and drain a can of pineapple chunks. Save the pineapple juice from the can (make sure it’s juice, not syrup). Toss the potatoes and pineapple into a skillet, season with curry, 1 teaspoon of light soy sauce, garlic, and a sprinkle of salt. Let it simmer in the reserved pineapple juice until juice is gone. Serve immediately over brown rice.

I hope you enjoy a simple and healthy Indian style dish! My house LOVED it.

Leave a Reply

