Renewal Project 2015

image

At the beginning of the year, I launched a personal project called Renewal Project 2015. After a year that took me for a whirl in all aspects of my life, I felt I needed to renew myself to a state where I felt like me again and to a better me. This involved deep commitment to renewing certain aspects of my life. Here are the areas of my life I felt needed renewal and how I was feeling at the end of 2014.

Physical: Despite being a personal trainer and a healthy lifestyle coach, I had put everyone else’s health above my own. As my clients, students, and challengers were getting healthier and more fit, I suffered from a hip injury, making running and most cardio activity painful, and made excuses regarding exercise and my nutrition to where I had lost some of my leanness and put on 10 extra pounds and 10 extra overall inches.

image

Spiritual: Despite constant personal development through various books, audio, and other sources, I felt my spirit was in turmoil. I had been visiting a church I loved, but did not go for several months. I felt beat down in my spirit while struggling with some extremely personal issues all while trying my damnedest to remain positive and upbeat to the outside world.

Business: Despite my training and teaching locally growing, I let my Beachbody business fall apart. This hurt the worst because Beachbody is the reason I am in the field I am in now. Beachbody is a core reason I am the person I am now. Beachbody has led me to people, opportunities, and experiences I would have never had without it. I truly love the company I am aligned with, and I was pushing it to the wayside.

Interests: Over the last year, I had pushed interests aside. I stopped writing regularly (as you noticed if you have followed my blog for some time). I stopped creating…crafts, photography, designing, you name it. Running, partially due to injury, had become a chore instead of my desire.

Relationships: I am a person who deeply believes humans need and innately desire connection. Over the last year, I had lost or pushed away many friends and family. True colors of people I thought I knew were revealed. I received a blunt, long lesson in conditional/unconditional love and the human flaws of judgement, stubbornness, and resentment. This lesson started to make me jaded and question my true quality of trusting everyone. Now, I know I am far from perfect, but I am aware and have been working to learn and accept my flaws. But this arena of my life was now in a whole new light.

Now, in 2015, I am focusing intensively on these 5 areas in my life. Every 4-6 weeks, I will be posting my personal updates for you to follow along if you wish. Stay tuned tomorrow as I reveal the changes I have made and the progress results from the first 6 weeks of Renewal Project 2015.

Leave a Reply

